One of the largest limestone houses in Old Cataraqui Village, this residence was built for Dr. William Beamish. The street facade and quoins are of dressed limestone blocks with other facades and an attached stable being constructed of rough limestone.
In 1870, Dr. Beamish sold the house and in 1904 it became the rectory for Christ Church Cataraqui and the parish hall was added.
In 1975 the propoerty was purchased by Ernest A. Cromarty for his offices and residence.
2263 Princess Street, Kingston, Ontario
Frontenac Historic Foundation Award
Over the years the property has been steadily restored. The creating of new additions sympathetic to the original character, landscaping, repair and replacement of stonework, chimneys, shutters and roof, re-opening of hidden fireplaces, finishing of basement and original round cistern, and new mechanical/electrical systems. Also included in the ongoing restoration work is the exposing and refinishing of stone walls on the interior, along with adjacent new natural cedar walls for compatibility.
Professional offices are found on all three levels of the building and come in varying sizes. Each office is unique with different features being integrated to create their own individuality.
The Beamish House Corporate Centre now is home to the offices of Mr. Cromarty’s architectural practice, a financial investment company, a property management firm, registered massage therapist, graphic design offices and a multi-media advertising agency.
The building features exposed stone walls throughout. An interesting lighting feature using architecturally designed cedar louvers can be found throughout the main level.
The original bake oven is located in the lower level and original exposed beams can be found throughout the building.
The unique character of this building combines historical characteristics with architecturally designed details throughout.